Sports News

When did your team last win a national title in football?


Georgia won its first national championship since 1980 with a 33-18 victory against Alabama in the 2022 College Football Playoff championship game Monday. 

Quarterback Stetson Bennett threw two TDs in the fourth quarter, and Georgia coach Kirby Smart finally scored a win against his mentor Nick Saban. 

MORE: Bama tops SN’s Way Too Early Top 25

Georgia had one of the more-prolonged droughts among the major powers in the FBS. 

So who is next? When did your school last win a national championship in the Poll Era, which began in 1936 when the Associated Press awarded Minnesota with a national championship? The AFCA National Championship Trophy (1945) and Grantland Rice Trophy (1954) also have been used to determine national championships in the past.

Here’s a closer look at all those national championship teams since then: 

  • Georgia beat Alabama 33-18 in the 2022 College Football Playoff championship game. Stetson Bennett threw two fourth-quarter TDs, and the Bulldogs’ top-ranked defense allowed just one TD. That gave coach Kirby Smart his first national championship. It broke a 41-year drought that extended back to the 1980 season with legendary coach Vince Dooley and star running back Herschel Walker.

  • Alabama won its sixth national championship under Nick Saban and 18th as a program with a 52-24 win against Ohio State in the 2021College Football Playoff national championship game. Heisman Trophy winner DeVonta Smith led a cast that included six consensus All-Americans.

  • Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow led LSU to its fourth national championship in a convincing 42-25 victory over defending national champ Clemson in the College Football Playoff championship game in New Orleans. Burrow passed for 463 yards and five TDs in the victory.

  • Clemson beat Alabama 44-16 in the 2019 College Football Playoff championship game to become the first team to finish 15-0 since 1897. That gave the Tigers two national championships in three seasons under Dabo Swinney.

  • Urban Meyer led the Buckeyes to a victory in the first College Football Playoff national championship game against Oregon. The Buckeyes won 42-20 for the program’s first national title since 2002.

    MORE: Top 10 Ohio State Buckeyes

  • The Seminoles, led by Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston, beat Auburn forthe final BCS championship, 34-31. Jimbo Fisher gave the program its first national title since 1999.

  • Cam Newton’s unbelievable season propelled Auburn to the national championship in 2010. Newton led the Tigers to a perfect season and a 22-19 win against Oregon in the BCS championship game.

    MORE: What if these stars went to other schools?

  • Tim Tebow and Urban Meyer helped lead the Gators to their second national championship in three seasons. The Gators beat Oklahoma 24-14 in the BCS championship game.

  • Vince Young’s transcendent performance in the 2006 Rose Bowl led the Longhorns to a 41-38 victory against USC. Mack Brown delivered a national championship to the program with an undefeated season.

  • This national championship was vacated by the Coaches Poll and BCS, but it still happened on the field. USC, led by Heisman Trophy winner Matt Leinart, beat Oklahoma 55-19. The Trojans also won the AP national championship in 2003.

  • The Hurricanes enjoyed a 12-0 season and dominated Nebraska 37-14 in the Rose Bowl. That gave the program its fifth national championship since 1983.

  • Oklahoma won the national championship in Bob Stoops’ second season, defeating Florida State 13-2 in the BCS championship game.

  • Tennessee kicked off the Bowl Championship Series era with an undefeated season under Phillip Fulmer. The Volunteers defeated Florida State 23-16 in the Fiesta Bowl to win that national championship.

  • Heisman Trophy winner Charles Woodson and coach Lloyd Carr guided the Wolverines to a 12-0 season and a 21-16 victory against Washington State in the Rose Bowl, winning the AP national title.

  • Nebraska earned a split of the national championship in 1997 in Tom Osborne’s final season. The Cornhuskers finished 13-0 and defeated Tennessee 42-17 in the Orange Bowl. Nebraska won the Coaches Poll as a result.

  • Washington, led by Steve Emtman and a nasty defense, won the Coaches Poll in 1991 after an undefeated season capped, by a 34-14 victory against Michigan in the Rose Bowl. That gave Don James his first national championship.

  • Colorado lost early in the season to Illinois, but the Buffaloes bounced back to win the rest of their games for the AP national championship. Colorado beat Notre Dame 10-9 in the Orange Bowl, a game best remembered for the clipping call on Raghib Ismail’s punt return for a touchdown in the final minute.

  • Bobby Ross guided the Yellow Jackets to the Coaches Poll national championship in 1990 after an 11-0-1 season that Yellow Jackets capped with a 45-21 victory against Nebraska in the Orange Bowl.

  • Lou Holtz led the Irish to an undefeated season, with the marquee victory a 31-30 victory against Miami(Fla.)in South Bend in the regular season. Notre Dame beat West Virginia 34-21 in the Fiesta Bowl to cap a 12-0 season.

    MORE: Alternate history of ND football

  • The Nittany Lions finished 12-0 to give Joe Paterno a second national championship. Penn State capped the season with a 14-10 victory against Miami (Fla.)in the 1987 Fiesta Bowl.

  • The Cougars enjoyed a fantastic season in 1984 under LaVell Edwards and Robbie Bosco. BYU is the last Group of 5 school to win a national title, and they did that with a 24-17 win against Michigan in the Holiday Bowl.

  • The Panthers, led by Johnny Majors and Tony Dorsett, won the national championship after a 12-0 season that featured a 27-3 win against Georgia in the Sugar Bowl.

  • Michigan State (1965): Coaches Poll

    Arkansas (1964): FWAA

    Ole Miss (1960): FWAA

    Minnesota (1960)

    Syracuse (1959)

    Iowa (1958):FWAA

    UCLA (1954):Coaches

    Maryland (1953)

    Illinois (1951):Boand

    Kentucky (1950):Sagarin

    Army (1945):AP Poll

    Oklahoma State (1945):Coaches Poll

    Stanford (1940):Billingsley

    Boston College (1940):Various

    Texas A&M (1939)

    TCU (1938)

    Cal (1937):Various

Source link

Leave a Response